Yesterday’s Games

Super Nintendo Controller

Remembering and looking back on what we used to play comes as easy as naming our favorite foods and describing it to our friends what’s the best way to cook it is. We were once immersed in those obsolete universes made out of 8 or 16 bits graphics and were top of the line stuff. But even with the most simplistic gameplays, we still spent nights after nights cursing at our TVs and trying not to wake up our parents for fault of being discovered playing so late. They required precision, patience and perseverance. We still remember everything–from the perfect timing of a precise jump to the most obscure secret hidden in a level. We want to remember everything.

Fortunately, we still have a way to play in those obnoxiously pixelated worlds thanks to online markets on today’s consoles, or for those lucky ones who still hold their original consoles and still have a working power cable for them, they get to do it old-school style. And it doesn’t matter if what was once light-grey on the console looks like it spent a decade in a retirement home full of smokers because it still works like a charm. The point is though that even after countless hours clocked in whatever console we had, some of us–me–have a hard time adjusting when revisiting those older games after spending so much time away from them.

Super-Mario-World

Any current-gen game has their perks and cons, and of course, amazing graphics. But substantially, like a friend mine once said, the older the game, the harder. Truth be told, I very much enjoy any games I can get my hands on but with the time passing and with some games spoiling me, I got sloppy. My childhood games are now a nerve-testing challenge. I am not the once-composed player I used to be as I learned not too long ago. I sometimes even worry for the controller in hands as I feel the temptation to just smash it on ground. Like an old retired muscle I didn’t stretch in far too long. I feel like my uncle when he tried playing on the Master System and got closed to a nervous breakdown in less than fifteen minutes.

Now, I learned I’m losing that precious patience and precision I once had. I try to rush through and I want that instant satisfaction of knowing I can still pull it off with the same disregard I sometimes play some newer games. Games were once made to be mastered and now to be played. There’s a reason why they keep revamping remastered versions of old games (besides the money-making aspect) and that’s because they still have much to offer. They still hold up to their value to this day and age. Anyone like me who used to play those adventures day and night still feel the need to revisit them and conquer them, at least one more time. I remember every single level on a Mario game but forgot how to play it the right way.

The game is the same but I now play with a different prospective; a more chaotic and faster pace. I of course can’t blame it out of today’s games because obviously not everyone experienced the same outcome as me, but they certainty do have something to do with it. They warped the way I play and react, making me a faster and perhaps proficient gamer in today’s hits but all that doesn’t necessarily apply when playing one of the pioneers of the gaming industry. There is a good outcome in all this though, and that’s that we will always know where to go if we want to find a way to challenge ourselves to save a princess, find a master sword or just kick some ninja’s ass. Old-school gaming will never get old.

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Yesterday’s Games”
  1. iberrhymer says:

    Good article in portraying the old gaming way. Makes me want to dust off my old NES and play some good ol games like SMB3 or TMNTII

Leave a Reply

  • Also Collaborating With:
  • Cinemaniax OfficialRTV